Onto the next project

20180929_105116

Three month ago we moved up to the mountains to become caretakers of four acres of conservation land.  There was also a fenced in garden that must have been ignored for a while because it was now just a patch of dirt.

Last time i wrote I had just left the community garden so when this opportunity came up I was ready to take on another community garden(or start one)  This time I’ll be focusing on native plants and how to grow natives along with fruits and veggies.  This will be a big challenge because although this is a deer and bear proof garden, the ground squirrels once they find me will try and eat everything!

Here we are creating a spiral garden.  Since i’m not in a hurry to grow food for production i’m building the spiral with whatever i have a lot of which is basically mulch.  I’ll be combining it with some soil and planting a few seedling to see what might grow in mostly mulch.  My plan is to do my big planting in spring when the soil and mulch has broken down and i can amend with compost.

20180929_104951month 2 at bluebird ranch 257

 

Leave a comment