Social distancing in the mountains

I think we have been self quarantined for about two months now and for the first month and a half i felt little change to my daily routine.  I am part of the essential workforce(thank goodness) because i’m a community farmer.

dec garden 2013 035

Being up in the mountains and only having one neighbor has been probably the biggest adjustment in the last year and a half since we moved here and so the “social distancing” hasn’t effected me until now.  I find myself planning to call a garden friend to come and hang out or work in the garden with me but then realize that this is not possible for now.  So what am i up to here at the ranch?

Growing food!  Last year i didn’t feel like fighting the pocket gophers or insects to grow food but now with people losing their jobs and pinching pennies i feel the need to grow as much food as i can (with my time permitting} and offer it or donate it to my community.

The succulents have been doing great in the spiral garden.  Nothing seems to be too interested in even a nibble.  My initial goal was to plant as many succulents and native plants in the spiral garden.  Now i’ve decided to sink a few big pots and try growing a

IMG_20200201_075556_968

few tomatoes.  I’m also growing tomatoes in a few big pots above grown with netting.  I’m determined to get some tomatoes this year.  In addition i seeded cucumber, sugar snaps, onions, pumpkin, and some herbs.

We are also in the thick of weed abatement.  All the rain we had that one week gave all the weeds we cut down a boost of energy.  I like mowing with the tractor and can easily lose track of time until i realize my butt has fallen asleep.

IMG_20191213_143116_495 (1)

My husband has been busy with his projects too.  Now that he is home he’s been weed whacking like crazy and fixing some things around here.

IMG-20200128-WA0002 IMG-20200327-WA0002

This fence was completely off the hinge and the hinge was broken.  He added wheels to the bottom so it’s so much easier to open and close.  The projects always seem like something that can be done in a flash but then become a few day projects.

Lastly we were visited by the painted ladies this year again.  For some reason they really liked the hoop house and congregated in the bunches to the point that some were getting stuck which was sad.

20200323_123853

Here’s to a plentiful bounty this summer.  Happy gardening!

Juanita

Leave a comment